Beaumont Technologies

Rheology and material solutions

Material Data Service

Increase simulation prediction accuracy with up-to-date and complete material data cards

With a specific material characterization, you as a user can achieve a higher accuracy in the simulation prediction of the manufacturability of the component design, the process design and the component performance. With a more accurate simulation prediction, part quality increases and time to market decreases.

We primarily use the Beaumont Advanced Processing Lab, the official Autodesk partner material laboratory in the USA, to determine specific material data and create Moldflow data sets for existing material data. Material testing includes both specialized Autodesk methods and conventional material characterization techniques. Through direct contact and constant exchange of information with the test labs, you will receive advice specifically tailored to Autodesk Moldflow to achieve “Gold” status for your material data.

Other customer-specific laboratories are available on request.

Our services:

  • Advice on desired material data for your simulation
  • Determination of material data via the official Autodesk partner laboratories
  • plausibility check of the measured material data in consultation with the customer
  • Order of customer-specific laboratories possible
  • Collect, filter and merge raw data
  • Creation of Moldflow data sets for existing material data

MeltFlipper®

The optimization tool for cold runner gating systems to avoid shear-induced unbalanced filling and the resulting effects on the parts.

Particularly with thin-walled components and high injection speeds, strong shearing of the melt occurs in areas of the gate system close to the wall. In the case of multiple cavities, this leads to an asymmetrical viscosity distribution over the channel cross-section at each branch of the gate and thus to unbalanced filling of the cavities. Thus, an even holding pressure supply is no longer guaranteed and phenomena such as different warpage, different strength of weld lines, optical defects or even short shots occur.

By optimizing the design of the runner system with the help of MeltFlipper technology, a symmetrical distribution of the viscosity over the channel cross-section can be achieved again by case-specific rotation of the melt at branches.

Customer benefit:

  • Avoidance of additional tool change loops
  • Reduction of scrap quantity
  • Enlargement of the process window
  • Avoidance of problems such as high pressure and clamping force requirements, optical defects, distortion, etc.
  • Faster time to market

Therma-flo™

Therma-flo is the first measuring method to characterize a flowing polymer melt in the injection molding process.

For many applications classical rheometer measurements are performed for the rheological characterization of polymers. From this, for example, an MFI value is derived which allows a statement to be made about the flowability of the polymer melt. However, these rheometer measurements are more comparable to an extrusion process than to an injection molding process. A statement on the material behaviour during injection moulding can therefore only be derived to a limited extent. For example, classical rheometer measurements do not take into account the influence of the plasticizing unit, the interaction between mould temperatures and the melt, the wall thickness of the component and finally the pressure-dependent viscosity.

The Therma-flo characterization measures the flow behavior directly in the injection molding process and thus supplies the customer:

  • a realistic prediction of the pressure requirement as a function of wall thickness and temperature
  • an opportunity to verify the quality and plausibility of simulation input data and results
  • a possibility to directly compare different materials for each specific application with regard to technical and economic aspects
  • a simple preliminary analysis to evaluate the influence of the wall thickness on the filling pressure, as well as the sensitivity with regard to the melt temperature and injection speed without the modeling effort of a complete simulation.
Menu

Beaumont Technologies

Rheologie- und Materiallösungen

Materialdatenservice

Steigerung der Genauigkeit bei der Simulationsvorhersage durch aktuelle und vollständige Materialdatenkarten

Mit einer spezifischen Materialcharakterisierung können Sie als Anwender eine höhere Genauigkeit bei der Simulationsvorhersage in der Herstellbarkeit des Bauteildesigns, des Prozessdesigns bis hin zur Bauteilperformance realisieren. Mit einer präziseren Simulationsvorhersage steigt die Bauteilqualität und sinkt die Zeitspanne bis zur Markteinführung.

MF SOFTWARE wickelt die Ermittlung spezifischer Materialdaten und das Erstellen von Moldflow Datensätzen bei vorhandenen Materialdaten in erster Linie über das Beaumont Advanced Processing Lab, dem offiziellen Autodesk Partner Materiallabor in den USA, ab. Die Materialtests umfassen sowohl spezialisierte Autodesk-Methoden als auch konventionelle Materialcharakterisierungstechniken. Durch direkten Kontakt und ständigen Informationsaustausch mit den Testlaboren erhalten Sie speziell auf Autodesk Moldflow abgestimmte Beratung, um den „Gold“ Status für Ihre Materialdaten zu erreichen.

Andere Labore sind auf Anfrage möglich.

Unsere Leistungen:

  • Beratung über notwendige Materialdaten für Ihre Simulation
  • Ermittlung von Materialdaten über die offiziellen Autodesk Partner Labore
  • Plausibilitätsprüfung der gemessenen Materialdaten in Absprache mit dem Kunden
  • Beauftragung kundenspezifischer Labore möglich
  • Sammeln, filtern und zusammenführen von Rohdaten
  • Erstellung von Moldflow Datensätzen bei vorhandenen Materialdaten

MeltFlipper®

MeltFlipper ist eine Optimierung des Kaltkanal-Angusssystems zur Vermeidung scherbedingter unbalancierter Füllung und der daraus resultierenden Auswirkungen auf die Bauteile.

Insbesondere bei dünnwandigen Bauteilen und hoher Einspritzgeschwindigkeit kommt es in wandnahen Bereichen des Angusssystems zu starker Scherung der Schmelze. Bei Mehrfachkavitäten führt dies an jeder Verzweigung des Angusses zu einer asymmetrischen Viskositätsverteilung über den Kanalquerschnitt und damit zu unbalancierter Füllung der Kavitäten. Somit ist eine gleichmäßige Nachdruckversorgung nicht mehr gewährleistet und es treten Phänomene wie unterschiedlicher Verzug, unterschiedliche Festigkeit von Bindenähten, optische Defekte oder gar Short-Shots auf.

Mit einer Designoptimierung des Anbindungssystems mit Hilfe der MeltFlipper Technologie kann durch fallspezifische Rotation der Schmelze an Verzweigungen wieder eine symmetrische Verteilung der Viskosität über den Kanalquerschnitt erreicht werden.

Kundennutzen:

  • Vermeidung von zusätzlichen Werkzeugänderungsschleifen
  • Reduktion der Ausschussmenge
  • Vergrößerung des Prozessfensters
  • Vermeidung von Problemen wie hohen Druck- und Schließkraftbedarf, optische Defekte, Verzug, etc.
  • Schnellere Markteinführung

Therma-flo™

Therma-flo ist die erste Messmethode zur Charakterisierung einer fließenden Polymerschmelze im Spritzgussprozess.

Für viele Anwendungen werden zur rheologischen Charakterisierung von Polymeren klassische Rheometermessungen durchgeführt. Daraus wird beispielsweise ein MFI-Wert abgeleitet, der eine Aussage über die Fließfähigkeit der Polymerschmelze zulässt. Diese Rheometermessungen sind jedoch mehr mit einem Extrsuionsprozess als mit dem Spritzgussprozess vergleichbar. Eine Aussage auf das Materialverhalten beim Spritzgießen ist daher nur bedingt ableitbar. Beispielsweise werden bei klassischen Rheometermessungen keine Einflüsse der Plastifiziereinheit, der Wechselwirkung zwischen Temperaturen des Werkzeuges und der Schmelze, der Wandstärke des Bauteils und letztendlich der druckabhängigen Viskosität berücksichtigt.

Die Therma-flo Charakterisierung erfasst das Fließverhalten direkt im Spritzgussprozess und liefert dem Kunden somit

  • eine realistische Vorhersage des Druckbedarfs in Abhängigkeit von Wanddicke und Temperatur
  • eine Gelegenheit zur Überprüfung der Güte und Plausibilität von Simulationseingangsdaten und Ergebnissen
  • eine Möglichkeit zum direkten Vergleich verschiedener Materialien für den jeweils spezifischen Anwendungsfall hinsichtlich technischer und wirtschaftlicher Aspekte
  • eine einfache Voranalyse zur Bewertung des Einflusses der Wandstärke auf den Fülldruck, sowie der Sensitivität hinsichtlich Schmelzetemperatur und Einspritzgeschwindigkeit ohne den Modellierungsaufwand einer kompletten Simulation.
Menü